Cloudy sky and rain

What makes you feel nostalgic?

I don’t know why, but I like it when the sky is turning gray and water starts to pour down to the ground. The view, the smell, the sound. Everything seems decent to remember. Why is this making me feel nostalgic? Am I having personal experience with this? Maybe, maybe not.

I remember when I was a child, my mother told me not to play outside when it’s raining. In our old house at that time, there were pink and orange bougenville flowers in the corner of our front porch. It’s a pretty big plant, and it has a lot of flowers. My mother took care of it a lot. It was blooming and wet since it was raining outside. I love to see the water dropping from each flower. They look beautiful, even though the color is kind of mixed with the illusion of rain. I’ve picked up one of the petals and put it in my palm. I’ve looked at it, just looking at it and feeling it in my hand, then throwing it away. I can’t believe that I still remember my feelings that day. The memories that I brought from my childhood. I may not have listened to my mother that day, but that was one of my memories of why I like rain and a cloudy sky. I was playing around even though I didn’t play in the rain.

I remember when the rain was pouring hard and the electricity went off. We’ve gathered in the living room, and my mother is lighting up the candles. We’ve snuggled in a blanket, playing shadows of ourselves. I was giggling, trying to guess what the shadow was. Was it a bird, a bat, or a cat? That was a beautiful memory that I remembered until now. We were so happy. We didn’t worry about how an Instagram post doesn’t get any likes or TikTok doesn’t get any followers. Back then, being mindful was so much easier for me. That’s the reason why my mind connected the rain with the shadow on the back of the plywood. The light was limited, but our feelings were full. The laugh, the smile, the moment.

There are so many more stories related to the rain; should I tell more stories about it?